The 2013 Brickenden Awards

Catharine Brickenden

The winners of the 2013 Brickenden Awards for Theatrical Excellence in London were announced at the Wolf Performance Hall on Monday night in a ceremony hosted by Matt Loop and Jeff Werkmeister. Celebrating the 2013 theatre season, the awards recognized productions and performances in seventeen different categories. New this year were awards for outstanding ensemble performance and outstanding makeup design.

The winners were:

Outstanding Comedy Production
Vigil (A Missing Link Theatre Company)
Outstanding Lighting Design
Karl Goffin, Dream (Paradoxa Theatre Collective)
Outstanding Sound Design
Teighlor Thomson, Dream (Paradoxa Theatre Collective)
Outstanding Youth Drama
Flowers for Algernon (London District Christian Secondary School)
Outstanding Youth Musical
Monty Python’s Spamalot (Original Kids Theatre Company)
Outstanding Set Design
Rachel Dotterman, Ryan Cole, and Sarah Vitali, Dream (Paradoxa Theatre Collective)
Outstanding Female Actor in a Supporting Role
Jessica Ducharme, “Puck”, Dream (Paradoxa Theatre Collective)
Outstanding Original Script
Swing Dance, Lynda Martens
Outstanding Costume Design
Rebecca Collins, Dream (Paradoxa Theatre Collective)
Outstanding Makeup Design
Heather Heywood, Dream (Paradoxa Theatre Collective)
Chris Doty Award
Patricia Black
Outstanding Musical Production
Avenue Q (Original Kids Alumni)
Outstanding Male Actor in a Supporting Role
Phil Johnston, “Trekkie Monster”, Avenue Q (Original Kids Alumni)
Outstanding Ensemble Performance
The cast of Laughter on the 23rd Floor (London Community Players)
Outstanding Female Actor in a Lead Role
Carol Robinson-Todd, Vigil (A Missing Link Theatre Company)
Outstanding Male Actor in a Lead Role
Tim Bourgard, “Sigmund Freud”, Freud’s Last Session (Theatre Parapraxis)
Outstanding Director
Andrew Tribe, Avenue Q (Original Kids Alumni)
Outstanding Drama Production
To Kill a Mockingbird (London Community Players)

Paradoxa Theatre Collective’s six awards for Dream equals the record set by two companies at the 2010 Brickendens, Pacheco Theatre (for Outstanding Musical winner The Producers) and Passionfool Theatre Company (for Marat/Sade, Medea, and Monster.

Awards in the Bravest Production and Outstanding Solo Performance categories were not presented; the former is a discretionary category, and in the latter case, there were not enough solo performances during the year, so eligible performers were included in the lead categories.

The winners of the awards were decided by votes from the public, the three Brickenden adjudication panels, and the organization’s executive committee.

As always, congratulations to all of the winners and nominees, as well as to everyone who worked in and attended theatre in London in 2013. See you in twelve months!