The 2014 Brickenden Awards

Catharine Brickenden

The winners of the 2014 Brickenden Awards for Theatrical Excellence in London were announced at the Wolf Performance Hall tonight in a ceremony hosted by Harry Edison and Matt Loop. Celebrating the 2014 theatre season, the awards recognized productions and performances in sixteen different categories. (The outstanding ensemble performance, introduced last year, was retired, and there was an insufficient number of solo performances to award that category.)

The 2014 winners were:

Outstanding Drama
A Few Good Men, By the Book Theatre
Outstanding Comedy
Noises Off, London Community Players
Outstanding Musical
Evil Dead: The Musical, Iglesia Productions
Chris Doty Award (previously announced)
London Community Players
Outstanding Youth Drama
The Great Gatsby, Beal Drama
Outstanding Youth Musical
The Music Man, Beal Musical Theatre
Outstanding Original Script
Erin J. Walker, Shadfly, Tinkerspace Theatre
Outstanding Director
Mark Killeen, A Few Good Men, By the Book Theatre
Outstanding Female Actor, Lead Role
Angela Southern (Mama Rose, Gypsy), Musical Theatre Productions
Outstanding Male Actor, Lead Role
Jayson McDonald (Magic Unicorn Island), Stars and Hearts
Outstanding Female Actor, Supporting Role
Sookie Mei (Woman B, Love, Loss, and What I Wore), London Community Players
Outstanding Male Actor, Supporting Role
Alex Bogaert (Dawson, A Few Good Men), By the Book Theatre
Outstanding Costume Design
Becky Lenko and Kim McCuaig, Gypsy, Musical Theatre Productions
Outstanding Lighting Design
Rob Coles, The Full Monty, Fuse Productions
Outstanding Makeup Design
Carol Contant, Evil Dead: The Musical, Iglesia Productions
Outstanding Set Design
David Long and Stephen Mitchell, Noises Off, By the Book Theatre
Outstanding Sound Design
Andrew Johnson, A Few Good Men, By the Book Theatre

Many London Community Players alumni were in attendance to witness the organization’s receipt of the Chris Doty Award, which was presented to mark its contributions to the London theatre community over forty seasons.

By the Book Theatre and London Community Players tied for the most awards with four each; LCP also led in total nominations with a remarkable 21 for its productions or co-productions with other companies. H.B. Beal Secondary School swept the youth categories, winning for both outstanding drama and musical.

The winners of the awards were decided by votes from the public, the three Brickenden adjudication panels, and the organization’s executive committee.

Theatre in London sends congratulations to all of the winners and nominees, and thanks to everyone who attended or worked in any of the 250 theatre productions that appeared in London in 2014. Well done!